Week in Review

The past week has been busy with fishing and moving into a new place. It’s a pretty nice house for college students but we don’t have internet yet. So I am currently typing from some hipster coffee shop in Missoula. The week started out on multi-boat guide trip on the Upper Bitterroot. The action was decent on top throughout the day, with some nice fish being caught.

Image

Bill with a nice Cuttbow

My friend Ben and I were then able to do a float on some skinny water up in the mountains. My outfitter, Robert Gary, who owns Two Dog Outfitters has loaned me his sweet Sotar Strike Raft for a few days, while he is fishing the South Platte in Wyoming. I had only rowed drift boats up until that point so it was awesome to get into something that could go over such shallow water, and be so quiet. The dry fly fishing was decent, but we also hung a dropper off the dry that worked very well.

Image

Thanks Robert!

Image

Image

Couple of Underwater Release Shots

Image

We forgot to switch the net out of my boat and into the raft, so Ben had to reach down to hand land the fish.

Image

Image

I also met my buddy Cody and we did some wade fishing. The dry fly fishing was good, by fishing small pockets with stones and the like. It was a fun day.

Just today, I had the day off so some friends and I floated down the Clark Fork in inner tubes and bathing suits. There were PMD’s and PED’s coming off as the afternoon turned to evening, and it was fun watching some fish pluck them off the water right next to me. Made me wish I was fishing instead of relaxing, but I think I’ll get up in the morning and go out early for some mayfly action.

Overall it was a good week. I am already looking forward to school, fall fishing and hunting, and having more friends back into town.

As I type this looking through the coffee shop window, I see a homeless man hesitantly sit down in a chair outside, as if he feels he doesn’t belong. It reminds me how fortunate I am, and that we should all thank God everyday for the blessings we have. You can never take anything for granted.

Image

About flyfishingwest

My name is Trevor Anderson. I live in beautiful Missoula, Montana, and guide fly fishing trips around this amazing state. If you would like to inquire about a fly fishing or hunting trip in Montana you can call Latitudes Outfitting Co. at 406-363-3123.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

