Day on the Blackfoot

Yesterday, I had clients that wanted to see the Blackfoot. They were only going to be in town for a few more days, and had already fished the Bitterroot. So another guide and I, Brian Grande, drove towards the top of the river to put in on the North Fork. The Blackfoot had not been fishing as well as the Bitterroot in my opinion, but it had still been ok in the recent trips i had been up there. My clients, Jim and Kevin, were from San Diego, and were good fisherman. It wasn’t long until Kevin hooked into a big Bull Trout. He did a great job fighting the fish, and finally got it in after a long fight, we took some quick photos and got it back in the water. It was a good fish in the 24-25 inch range.

Image

Image

After that, Jim got around to catching some nice Cutthroats on dry flies.

Image

Image

Overall, the day might have been a little slower in terms of consistent action, but I was glad they brought some good fish to the boat, and we had awesome weather in the Blackfoot Valley.

About flyfishingwest

My name is Trevor Anderson. I live in beautiful Missoula, Montana, and guide fly fishing trips around this amazing state. If you would like to inquire about a fly fishing or hunting trip in Montana you can call Latitudes Outfitting Co. at 406-363-3123.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day on the Blackfoot

  1. Aaron says:

    I think you should consider quitting school. You have the best job in the world. I bet in twenty years you will look back on this summer and wish you kept guiding. I know a bunch of us old farts would trade days with you anytime.

    • Aaron, I considered deleting this comment in fear of my Dad seeing it! But yes i think i want to guide for a while and after I graduate college. I really do love it so far. Thanks for reading man.

Leave a Reply

