Summer Days

Yesterday was one of those days you just had to be on the water. Whether it’s fishing, tubing, swimming, or whatever, when it’s 95 degrees out people flock to the rivers. I had a trip with a married couple from San Diego; Mark and Rita. The day made for some of the best dry fly fishing I have seen this year. The morning started out with a thick hatch of PMD’s, and the fish were keyed in on them very well. Later in the afternoon, there were so many Golden and Bitterroot Stoneflies hatching they were crawling all over the boat. Mark and Rita are fairly new to flyfishing, but they picked up on the casting and getting a good drift throughout the day, and they got quite a few awesome eats on top. I didn’t take many pictures because I was busy with the fishing, but here’s a few good ones.

Image

Rita and Her Fish Handling Skills

Image

Mark with a 18″ Brown on a Golden Dry. If you look hard enough there is a Stonefly on the left lenses of my glasses.

Image

I finished the day by meeting my buddy Scott to fish not far from home, and getting to catch a few nice Cutthroats on a Caddis and PMD hatch. I was still wading in my shorts at 10:00 pm, the weather was pretty awesome.

About flyfishingwest

My name is Trevor Anderson. I live in beautiful Missoula, Montana, and guide fly fishing trips around this amazing state. If you would like to inquire about a fly fishing or hunting trip in Montana you can call Latitudes Outfitting Co. at 406-363-3123.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

