Summertime on Rock Creek

Well, the flows have subsided on Rock Creek and the floating season is over. Now the creek is at great levels for wading, and you can cross the river in some spots. So yesterday I ventured up there in search of some hatches and rising fish. Soon I found some fish rising with some regularly. The casting angle was really poor from the steep bank I walked down to the river on, so I waded across to the other side. I found success with a small PMD imitation, using a reach cast to present the fly with a drag-free drift. Unfortunately I didn’t bring my camera because I was wading in my shorts, but no big fish anyway. Rock Creek is a great place for the wade angler, and it was a fun evening fishing dry flies to some rising fish.Image

Picture of the Rock Creek Valley taken earlier this summer

About flyfishingwest

My name is Trevor Anderson. I live in beautiful Missoula, Montana, and guide fly fishing trips around this amazing state. If you would like to inquire about a fly fishing or hunting trip in Montana you can call Latitudes Outfitting Co. at 406-363-3123.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

