Blackfoot Dries

Fished one of the most famous rivers in The U.S. today… the Big Blackfoot. I spend most of my time floating the Bitterroot, but it was time to change it up a little bit. So my friends Ben and Jordan ventured up to the canyon section of the river with me for an afternoon/evening float. Jordan is a firefighter up in the Blackfoot Valley, and will probably be shipped out to Colorado in the coming weeks to calm the blazes. He knows the valley really well and hopefully we’ll be able to put an elk or two on the ground this fall.

The first part of the float was a little bit frustrating, air temps pushing 90 degrees and losing some fish early set the wrong tone. Jordan generously offered to row when we got to a calm stretch, and since I rarely get to fish out of my boat, and had not got a chance to all day, took the opportunity. A few casts later with a Salmonfly imitation and I hooked up with a nice cutthroat. From there on out things started to happen on top as we got fish on Salmonflies, Golden Stones, various Mayfly imitations, and Caddis. I really love evening dry fly fishing and we seemed to have perfect timing with the hatches. It was a good evening to make up for earlier in the day. The pictures are not that great due to the low light, but oh well.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

God Bless America. Happy 4th Of July!!

About flyfishingwest

My name is Trevor Anderson. I live in beautiful Missoula, Montana, and guide fly fishing trips around this amazing state. If you would like to inquire about a fly fishing or hunting trip in Montana you can call Latitudes Outfitting Co. at 406-363-3123.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blackfoot Dries

  1. Dennis Adnerson says:

    Trev:
    I’m glad you had a great time on the Blackfoot with your friends. I remember years ago when you, your brother, Cole, Mom and I floated the Blackfoot for a day (or maybe two). You were perhaps 10 or 11 years old and Cole about 8. We caught some great fish, while camping at a federal campground on a pretty bend in the river. Thanks for the post, and the memories!
    Dad

Leave a Reply

