Recap of 2012

2012 was a great year. I was fortunate enough to fish in a lot of different places and have great experiences in the outdoors with a lot of cool people. Because this blog has only been up for half the year, I decided to put together a quick timeline of my adventures.

Late Winter (January-February) After the new year rang in, I soon after headed back to Montana from my home in Wisconsin. In between classes, I made quite a few winter fishing  trips with friends to the Missouri River. At the time, my new friend Paden was wanting to get into flyfishing. I spent most of these Missouri trips behind the oars, in an effort to get Paden into fish. He caught on very quickly and brought some nice fish to hand.

Image

Paden with a nice Missouri rainbow

Early Spring (March-April) As February waned, the fishing around Missoula really started to heat up. The Bitterroot proved to be the consistant fishery it is, and the Skawala stones among other bugs really started to get the fish out of their winter doldrums.

Image

Garret with a rainbow from the Bitterroot

Image

Rock Creek

Image

Ben and I in the rain

Image

Spring in the Bitterroot Valley

Late Spring (May-June) Fishing remained good until close to the end of Spring Semester. When school got out, I did my first guide trip on the Missouri, and then quickly got back home to Wisconsin for a few weeks during spring runoff.

Image

Image

Image

Image

We had some good smallmouth and decent muskie action when I was back home, and before I knew it, it was time to head back to Montana. The rivers had dropped to fishable levels when I arrived in early June. The fishing started out pretty good and only got better as the summer went on.

Image

Image

Image

Summer (July- August) As July neared, I started the heat of the guide season, as I met a lot of great people and the dry fly fishing varied from good to great.

Image

Image

Image

As the start of school neared in late August, I was able to fish with friends who were returning to town. It was a great way to end the summer.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Forest Fire Smoke

Fall (September- End of Year) School started Aug. 27, and we got back to our studies. But we had fish on our minds, so over Labor Day Weekend we headed to British Columbia to fish the world famous Elk River.

554704_10152115768600228_1104298205_n

615009_10152115768195228_1034390432_o

After we got back to Missoula, the trico hatch provided great dry fly fishing in early fall, followed by some pretty good streamer fishing that moved some nice fish. Duck season started in late September as well, and we closed out our fall with good hunting and fishing.

DSC_0006

IMG_0427

IMG_0495

I hope this report gives you a brief recap of what 2012 in God’s great outdoors looked like for me. It was a memorable year, and I’m looking forward to 2013! Thanks for reading.

3 thoughts on “Recap of 2012

  1. This is a great post, Trevor! You had an amazing year as I can see. Hopefully you and I can get out on the water again sometime soon. Cheers

Leave a Reply

